Connecticut Commission on Community Service

A board of not fewer than 15, and not more than 25, voting members consists of the State Commission membership. Its role is to carry out the mission and goals of the State Service Plan and to fulfill the statutory responsibilities for state service commission authorized by 42 U.S.C. § 12638 and the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1990 as amended by the Serve America Act.


Commission members, who serve no more than three consecutive terms and do not receive a salary, function as “liaisons of service” within their sector and in their local communities to promote service opportunities and to encourage volunteerism by all. Please click here to learn more.


Board Members

Chair: Janice Andersen, Stratford

Melissa Biggs, Dayville

Susan Cheesman, Ex-Officio, Concord, New Hampshire

Robert DeCresenzo, Glastonbury

William Dyson, New Haven

Lily Egan, Rocky Hill

Dana Evora, Waterbury

Matthew Farley, Wallingford

Paul Formica, East Lyme

Timothy Larson, East Hartford

Eli Sabin, New Haven

Theresa Strong, Newington

Patricia Tarasovic, Oxford

Crystal Whipple, Mashantucket


Updated January 2022